About Kisoro District : Kisoro District is one of the Local Governments created under the Uganda Government decentralization policy in 1991. Kisoro District is located in the extreme South Western Uganda and shares a boundary with the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and the Republic of Rwanda. Kisoro District is bordered by Kanungu District to the north, Kabale District to the east, Rwanda to the south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west. The town of Kisoro is approximately 45 kilometers (28 mi), by road, west of Kabale, the largest town in the sub-region. The distance from Kampala Uganda’s capital and largest business district  is 484.0 km via Mbarara-Masaka Rd and Kabale  Mbarara Rd and it takes  8 hr 21 min

 Culturally the District  comprises of four main ethnic groups of people, namely the Bafumbira, Bakiga, Banyarwanda and Batwa.Population wise Kisoro district population has drastically increased to about 13.5 percent ever since 1991 and currently the population of  Kisoro district is 335,400 Population 2021 Projection and occupying 726.0 km² Area.

Religiously kisoro  district has been dominated by affiliations of the district residents broke down as follows: Christianity – 95.8 percent, Islam – 0.8 percent, Other – 1.3 percent, None – 2.2 percent. This is as of 2002 to date

About Kisoro District
Kisoro District

Politically kisoro district is dominated by the current ruling NRM government that holds almost all the district leaders .The District comprises of five constituencies namely Kisoro Municipality, Bufumbira South, Bufumbira East, Bukimbiri and Bufumbira North. Kisoro District like any other  has representatives in the Parliament of Uganda. Kisoro Municipality is represented by Hon. Sam Byibesho and has three divisions that is Central, Southern and Northern divisions. Bufumbira South represented by Hon Sam K. Bitangaro comprises of Chanika Town Council, Chahi Subcounty, Nyarusiza subcounty, Nyakinama Subcounty, Muramba Subcounty and Bunagana Town Council. Bufumbira East constituency is represented by Hon Dr. James Nsaba Buturo and is made up of Chahafi Town Council, Murora Subcounty, Nyakabande Subcounty and Kanaba subcounty. Bufumbira North constituency is represented by Hon. Nizeyimana John Kamara and comprises of Rukundo Town Council, Nyarubuye Subcounty, Busanza Subcounty and Mupaka Town Council. Bukimbiri constituency is one of the recently created constituencies and doesnot have a representative yet. It was curved out of both Bufumbira North and Bufumbira East constituencies. It is made up of Nyabwishenya Subcounty, Nkuringo Town Council, Kirundo Subcounty, Rubuguri Town Council, Bukimbiri Subcounty, Nyanamo Town Council and Nyundo Subcounty.

It is a mountainous aand hilly area blessed with fertile soils that favour Agriculture on both subsistence and large scale farming and these are crops grown in the district are, tea, Irish potatoes, maize and beans

The climate in Kisoro is comfortable and overcast. Over the course of the year, the temperature typically varies from 57°F to 75°F and is rarely below 55°F or above 80°F. Kisoro receives rain throughout the year  and it’s only kabale and Kasese that are referred to as the Switzerland of Africa since colonial time  due to their climate and geographical terrain.

Kisoro  is a  good tourism destination and its  a habitat to the Mountain Gorillas found in Mgahinga National Park and Bwindi Impenetrable National Park , these attract tourists throughput the year  who bring in revenue to the locals and both the district and national coffers. The famous Muhabura Volcanic Mountains and the hilly terrain, the snaking Kabale – Kisoro road together with Bwindi impenetrable forest and Echuya bamboo forest make Kisoro one of the most beautiful parts of the world. Uganda’s’ tagline “The Pearl of Africa “ is largely attributed to such pluchdtrinous and amazing nature of Kisoro district. That is entailed.

book a gorilla safari